Section Navigation

Best-selling Author to Speak at Women’s Leadership Conference March 1

BOONE– Debra Gawrych, author of the best-seller “The Seven Aspects of Sisterhood: Empowering Women Through Self-Discovery,” is the keynote speaker at this year’s Women’s Leadership Conference at Appalachian State University on March 1.

The public is invited to the conference, which will be held from 12:30 to 7 p.m. in the Plemmons Student Union. The theme is “Wise Women: Discovering the Keys that Open Doors.” Cost is $8 for students and $10 for non-students.

Gawrych kicks off the day with a talk from 12:30-1:30 p.m. She is CEO and founder of Common Boundaries, a company that promotes effective leadership skills at both the individual and organizational levels. She is a nationally known speaker and facilitator who has appeared on numerous television and radio shows.

She is working on a fiction book with the focus of empowering early teens in middle school or early high school called “Gutsy Girls.”

Other topics explored during the Women’s Leadership Conference include unlocking the doors to relationships, community involvement, and the leader within. Hour-long sessions run from 1:40-5:10 p.m.

Campus and community speakers are Susie Greene, dean of students/associate vice chancellor for student development; Tracey L. Wright, director of multicultural student development; Dr. Karen Caldwell of the Department of Human Development and Psychological Counseling; Dr. Denise Lovin from the Counseling and Psychological Services Center; Dr. Jennie Cassidy, associate director, Counseling and Psychological Services Center; Dr. Mary Babcock of the Department of Art; Jenny Koehn, ACT community service coordinator; De’Trice Fox, impACT Team; Dr. Peter Reichle of the Department of Interdisciplinary Studies; Dr. Mary Reichel, university librarian; Suzette Patterson, assistant director, OASIS Inc.; Megan Hayes, assistant marketing director, Office of Cultural Affairs; Dr. Carol Harding of the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences and professor emerita at Loyola University; and Dr. L. Arthur Safer of the Department of Leadership and Educational Studies.

Dinner begins at 5:45 p.m., followed by an awards program.

For more information, call the Center for Student Involvement and Leadership at (828) 262-6252.