Section Navigation

New Paradigm Percussion Quartet Performs March 6

BOONE–Appalachian State University’s Hayes School of Music presents The New Paradigm Percussion Quartet in concert on Thursday, March 6, at 8 p.m. in Broyhill Music Center’s Rosen Concert Hall. Admission is free and the public is invited.

The concert features Jeff Butterfield, Jason Jordan, John Leupold and Jeremy Muller. It is directed by Rob Falvo, an associate professor in the Hayes School of Music.

Titled “Structure and Rhythm,” the concert features compositions by John Cage, Dave Hollinden, Steve Reich and Olivier Messiaen.

Selections include “Music for Pieces of Wood,” “Quatuor Pour La Fin Du Temps,” “Quartet for Twelve Tom-toms” and “Third Construction.”

Use of instruments such as the vibraphone, cymbals, timpani, drums, tin cans, cowbells and rattles will provide an interesting music experience for the audience.

For more information about this program or any upcoming Hayes School of Music event, visit