Section Navigation

Fox to Chair Chancellor Search Committee for Appalachian

BOONE–Glenn W. Wilcox Sr., chairman of the Appalachian State University Board of Trustees, today appointed fellow trustee Robert G. Fox Jr. as chair of the search committee to recommend a successor to Chancellor Francis T. Borkowski, who stepped down last month.

Wilcox will serve as vice chair of the 16-member search committee, which also will represent students, faculty, staff, alumni and the community-at-large.

He said that the committee will conduct a thorough national search and will seek the broadest possible input from all university constituents. “It will certainly be a demanding task as we search for the most appropriate individual to lead Appalachian State University in the decade ahead, and we welcome recommendations of people, attributes or other ideas concerning Appalachian’s next chancellor,” Wilcox said.

Molly C. Broad, president of the 16-campus University of North Carolina system, will give the committee its charge at its first open meeting scheduled for 3 p.m. July 24, in the Broyhill Room of the Broyhill Inn and Conference Center on campus.

Borkowski, who retired in June following 10 years as Appalachian’s fifth chancellor, will join the Appalachian faculty as professor of music following a year’s sabbatical. President Broad announced June 11 that Harvey R. Durham would serve as Appalachian’s interim chancellor until a successor takes office.

An Appalachian alumnus, Fox is executive vice president of First Charter Bank in Charlotte and chairman-elect of the Appalachian Board of Trustees. He also serves as treasurer and chair of the finance committee of the Appalachian State University Foundation.

Fox said the search committee would recommend three finalists to President Broad. Then Broad will recommend one candidate to the UNC Board of Governors, the university’s policy-making body, which must elect the new chancellor.

Wilcox, chairman and CEO of Wilcox World Travel and Tours, Asheville, also named to the committee trustees James D. Branch, a Winston-Salem ophthalmologist; James M. Deal Jr., a Boone attorney; and Reba S. Moretz, co-owner of Appalachian Ski Mountain, of Boone.

Faculty representatives on the committee include Nancy Schneeloch-Bingham, assistant professor, Hayes School of Music; Randy K. Edwards, professor and chairperson of the accounting department, Walker College of Business; Paul H. Gates Jr., associate professor, communication department, and Faculty Senate Chairperson; and Dru A. Henson, professor and assistant chairperson, biology department.

Rachel A. Johnson, president of the Appalachian Student Government Association, will represent students on the committee, while Terri L. Miller, president of the Appalachian Staff Council, will represent the university’s staff.

Ryan L. Bolick, a consultant with BearingPoint, Inc., Charlotte; Jeannine Underdown Collins, president of the Appalachian Alumni Association and owner of Underdown and Associates Inc., of Boone; Jamie E. Harris, executive vice president and chief financial officer, Medcath Corporation, of Charlotte; and Mark E. Trivette, principal, southeast area mergers and acquisitions tax services, Ernst & Young LLP, of Atlanta will represent alumni.

Representing the community-at-large will be Brent B. Kincaid, former chairman of the Appalachian Board of Trustees and retired president and CEO, Broyhill Furniture Industries, of Lenoir.

# # #