Section Navigation

Conner Named Chairman of Appalachian’s Department of Technology

BOONE–Sidney G. Conner has been named chairman of the Department of Technology at Appalachian State University.

Conner is dean of the College of Applied Science and Technology and University Center at the University of Arkansas in Fort Smith.

Conner has a Ph.D. in adult and occupational education from Kansas State University, and master’s and bachelor’s degrees from Wichita State University.

He was a member of the Wichita State University faculty for 12 years and chairman of the Department of Industrial Technology for eight years.

Conner is a Certified Manufacturing Engineer and a Certified Senior Industrial Technologist.

Appalachian’s Department of Technology has about 700 undergraduate majors and offers undergraduate degrees in appropriate technology, construction technology, electronics, furniture studies, graphic arts and imaging technology, interior design, industrial drafting and design, technical photography, and two degrees leading to teacher certification: technology education; and trade and industry.

The department also offers master of arts degrees in industrial technology and technology education.