Section Navigation

Professorships awarded to Walker College of Business faculty

BOONE -Business professors Dick Crandall, Claudia Kelley, Lyle Schoenfeldt, Mike Dotson, Jim Westerman and Alan E. Singer have been awarded professorships in Appalachian State University’s Walker College of Business.

Named in honor of significant benefactors to the college, each professorship recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding performance in instruction, scholarship, and service, while serving as a positive role model for students.

The recipients receive a salary stipend to further advance their work and will retain the professorship for two years. The professorships are renewable for one additional term.

Dick Crandall has been awarded the Beroth Oil – Four Brothers Food Stores Professorship.

A professor in the Department of Computer Information systems, Crandall has taught at Appalachian since 1985.

His research interests focus on supply chain management and service operations, and during his tenure he has published nearly 100 articles, books, and papers containing his findings.

Crandall received a master’s of business administration from Boston University and completed his Ph.D. in production/operations management from the University of South Carolina in 1993.

The Beroth Oil – Four Brothers professorship was established in 1999 by Beroth Oil and Four Brothers Food Stores, a company based in Winston-Salem.

The recipient of the Honorable Harlan E. Boyles Professorship is Claudia Kelley.

Kelley is a professor in the Department of Accounting. She received the college’s Excellence in Teaching Award this spring.

Kelley is a certified public accountant and a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

She holds an M.S. degree from the University of Illinois and received MTx and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Alabama.

Kelley was an assistant professor at the University of Akron and a senior tax associate for Coopers & Lybrand before joining the teaching staff at Appalachian.

An endowment to fund the Boyles professorship was established in 1991 to honor the late N.C. Treasurer Harlan Boyles, who was a member of the state government for more than 49 years.

The endowment is funded by contributions from Boyles’s family, friends and colleagues.

Management professor Lyle Schoenfeldt has been named the L.M. Baker Jr. Partners in Excellence Professor. Schoenfeldt’s main research interests are human resources management and international business.

He also specializes in teaching international business and serves as a co-leader for the selective William R. Holland Fellows Program for Business Study in Asia each year.

Schoenfeldt received both a master’s and doctoral degree in industrial-organizational psychology from Purdue University.

The Baker professorship is named for Retired Wachovia CEO L.M. “Bud” Baker, Jr.

Marketing professor Mike Dotson has been awarded the John W. Guffey Jr. Professorship.

Dotson’s teaching interests include marketing research, promotion and consumer behavior.

He received his MBA degree from Nicholls State University and a DBA from Mississippi State University.

The Guffey Professorship is named for John W. Guffey Jr., retired chairman and CEO of Coltec Industries Inc., which merged with BF Goodrich in 1999.

It was established in 2000 and was funded by John and Monique Guffey.

Jim Westerman has received the Duane D. Daggett Professorship in Management.

Westerman is an associate professor in the Department of Management, where he teaches undergraduate and graduate level courses.

His research focuses on employee selection, compensation, business ethics and motivation.

Westerman received his master’s degree in business administration from Florida State University and his Ph.D. from the University of Colorado.

The professorship is named for Duane Daggett, who served as an executive in residence in the Walker College of Business from 1986 until 2000.

The Daggett professorship was established by a former student, M. Lee Barnes Jr., and his wife, Christy L. Barnes.

The James E. Holshouser Jr. Distinguished Professorship in Ethics, a university-level professorship, is held by Walker College of Business Professor Alan E. Singer.

Singer, a professor in the Department of Management, joined Appalachian’s faculty in 2007.

The endowment, established in 1996, was named in honor of former N.C. Gov. James E. Holshouser Jr., a Watauga County native.

It was funded in part by donations from C.D. Spangler Jr., former president of the University of North Carolina system, and by the C.D. Spangler Foundation.