Section Navigation

Appalachian to award honorary degrees to Reese and Rosen Sept. 10

Appalachian State University will award honorary degrees to two university benefactors and volunteers during convocation Sept. 10. The ceremony begins at 10 a.m. in the Holmes Convocation Center on campus.

An honorary doctor of fine arts degree will be awarded to Thomas W. Reese of Hickory and an honorary doctor of humane letters degree will be awarded to Muriel Rosen of Florida and Linville.

The awards will be presented in recognition of their notable contributions to society and the welfare of humankind and their contributions of service, leadership and financial support of Appalachian.

Reese of Hickory is chairman of the board of The Hickory Printing Group, and chairman of the board of the Reese Foundation. He has been a member of the Appalachian State University Foundation Board of Directors since 1993, and he chaired the board from 2005-07.

He was named an honorary alumnus of Appalachian in 1995 and received the Appalachian State University Alumni Association’s Outstanding Service Award in 2000.

Reese is a longtime friend of the university, and has made substantial contributions to support its academic programs and students. Appalachian’s Graphic Arts and Imaging Technology Program (GAIT) was named in his honor in 1994.

Rosen and her late husband, Arnold, helped establish the multi-discipline performing arts festival  An Appalachian Summer Festival in 1984. She has been a member of the An Appalachian Summer Festival Advisory Board since its inception and the Hayes School of Music Advisory Board since 1997. She also was instrumental in beginning the Appalachian Partners in Education (Appal PIE) Scholarships for students in the Hayes School of Music.

Her generous support also includes the Center for Judaic, Holocaust and Peace Studies; Carol Grotnes Belk Library and Information Commons; and the Turchin Center for the Visual Arts. The couple also established the Muriel and Arnold Rosen Endowment for the Arts at Appalachian.

Recipients of the university’s Plemmons Leadership Medallion, staff awards and UNC Board of Governors’ teaching awards also will be recognized during convocation.